top of page

South Bend Empowerment Zone


In the spring of 2019, The Indiana State Board of Education developed an agreement with the South Bend Community School Corporation to create the South Bend Empowerment Zone. The South Bend Empowerment Zone is comprised of Wilson, Warren, Harrison, and Coquillard Elementary schools, and Navarre Middle school. Our charge from the SBOE is to dramatically transform student achievement and growth at our schools over the course of a five-year intervention. 

5 copy.jpg

The South Bend Empowerment Zone and its Empowerment Zone Chief are directly accountable to a non-profit Board. The Board consists of both local independent and SBCSC members, allowing community voice a critical role in the process of transforming our neighborhood schools.


A system of schools that eliminates academic and social/emotional opportunity gaps and nurtures the greatness that exists within each child to confidently thrive in our city, nation, and world.


The Empowerment Zone nurtures the mind, body, and spirit of each child by harnessing the power of community and empowering every student with a high quality public education.

bottom of page